12 Quotes 12 Lessons!

Hello, lovely folks!!!

this  year is about to go and we are ready to welcome the new year with the great zeal. every year that passes gives us a lot of things and also takes various things from us. throughout this year I read 36 books which I learnt a lot from. books are our true friends they give us a lot and takes nothing in return. below given 12 quotes summarises my lessons from this year. let’s start with my favourite ones.

learning2

1. “The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offence, isn’t it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill–he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.” 

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov
2.“I love mankind, he said, “but I find to my amazement that the more I love mankind as a whole, the less I love the man in particular.” 

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov
3.“The more stupid one is, the closer one is to reality. The more stupid one is, the clearer one is. Stupidity is brief and artless, while intelligence squirms and hides itself. Intelligence is unprincipled, but stupidity is honest and straightforward.”

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov
4.“Loving someone is different from being in love with someone. You can hate someone you’re in love with”

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov
5.“I think everyone must love life more than anything else in the world.’
‘Love life more than the meaning of it?’
‘Yes, certainly. Love it regardless of logic, as you say. Yes, most certainly regardless of logic, for only then will I grasp its meaning. That’s what I’ve been vaguely aware of for a long time. Half your work is done, Ivan: you love life. Now you must try to do the second half and you are saved.”

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

6.“The difference between a simpleton and an intelligent man, according to the man who is convinced that he is the latter category, is that the former wholeheartedly accepts all things that he sees and hears while the latter never admits anything except after a most searching scrutiny. He imagines his intelligence to be a sieve of closely woven mesh through which nothing but the finest can pass. ”

RK Narayan

7.”We come together only to go apart again. The law of life can’t be avoided. The law comes into operation the moment we detach ourselves from our mother’s womb. All struggle & misery in life is due to our attempt to arrest this law or get away from it or in allowing ourselves to be hurt by it. The fact must be recognised, A profound unmitigated loneliness is the only truth of life. All else is false. The law of life. No sense in battling against it…”

R.K. Narayan
8.“These gentlemen, are my rules: if I don’t succeed, I keep trying; if I do succeed, I keep quiet; and in any case, I don’t undermine anyone. I’m not an intriguer, and I’m proud of it. I wouldn’t make a good diplomat. They also say, gentlemen, that the bird flies to the fowler. That’s true, and I’m ready to agree: but who is the fowler here, and who is the bird? That’s still a question, gentlemen!”

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Double
9.“Be wiser than other people if you can, but do not tell them so.”

Dale Carnegie
10.“People really do like seeing their best friends humiliated; a large part of the friendship is based on humiliation; and that is an old truth,well known to all intelligent people.”

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Gambler
11.“I worked it through with pride,I almost spoke without words, and I’m masterly at speaking without words.All my life I have spoken without words, and I have passed through whole tragedies on my own account without words”

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Gentle Spirit

12.the opposite of love is Hate . hate is just love gone bad. the actual opposite of love is apathy. when you don’t care a damn as to what happens to the other person.

Shiva Trilogy

Let’s know what did you learn this year.

This is an IndiSpire Post.

8 thoughts on “12 Quotes 12 Lessons!

I'm delighted to hear from you!

